Catching up, and a Request for Beta Readers

A Quick Catch Up on Current Events

Okay, so it’s been about a week and a half since I’ve posted anything, so I think I need to do a ‘Catching up, here’s what I’ve been up to’ post.

First off, I have to say that after a short series of rejection letters/emails and the even worse ‘no response’ deadlines, I took a break from writing for a while. When I say a while I mean about two weeks.

That’s one way I know that I’m meant to be a writer, is that it really feels weird to not be writing at least something. Even when I have writer’s block, it’s not really a block period, it’s just that I can’t seem to focus on the project I was hoping to focus on because something else has crept up and cut in line.

So starting this year I took a little break, tried to clear my head, enrolled in a writing course, and thought a lot about who I am, who I want to be, what defines me, you know heavy stuff like that.

I reread the short stories that I’ve been submitting for publication and I really think they are good, I just have to find the editor/publicist that thinks the same.

This week I picked back up the old pen and notepad with a new story in my brain and I’ve been writing it down as it comes. So far so good, so I’ll see how far I can get into it before something else cuts in line.

Outside of writing, I went to Iowa for about a week just before Christmas and saw some family that I haven’t seen in more than ten years. Now I’m doing some projects around the house and I’m soon to tackle a tree house for the kiddos.  Wish me luck with that!

Beta Readers Needed

I’m looking for anyone who wants to beta read these short stories for me. I can’t pay you, but if you like to read I think you’ll enjoy them and if you don’t so much like to read, they aren’t very long at all. I can’t post them because a lot of the places I’m submitting to won’t even consider them if they’ve been published on my blog.

I need some real feedback on them though. I’d like to know if they make sense (something I often wonder about my writing)

If there are any takers, please comment here and I’ll work out sending you an email with a .pdf version of the short stories. Thanks ahead of time!

I really believe that 2017 is going to be a big year. I feel like 2016 was a year of climbing, and maybe 2017 will be as well, but I have to say that the view does seem to be getting better along the way. So keep climbing with me! God bless, I hope all is well and take care of yourselves,

Joshua

Leave a Reply

