Sometimes You Just Need a Break

Hey Everyone,

I hope all is well. I just want to update you on the latest news and happenings from my realm of existence.

First off, I got another rejection letter, this time for one of the contests I was really hopeful on. It’s a short story I wrote entitled “One Soul in the Sea”, just didn’t cut the mustard with the judges I guess. So it’s back to the old ACME drawing board on that one. I’ll have to rework it and then decide what I want to do with it.

Next, I entered a chapter from my current novel project, Horntooth’s Farm into the James Patterson Co-Author Competition. I have to work hard this month to complete an outstanding outline for this novel. On April 6th they announce the 10 semi-finalists and those ppl send James Patterson their completed outline for their novels.

I’m taking a risk sending Horntooth’s Farm. It’s not really a crime mystery/thriller, which is of course Mr. Patterson’s realm of expertise, but it is a gripping emotional thriller/adventure drama đŸ™‚ which I’m hoping Mr. Patterson decides to take a gamble on. Ultimately it could be one of those books that changes lives, if I can get it out of my head and onto paper the right way. Fingers crossed the whole month of March for this one, which may make typing the outline more difficult. đŸ™‚

Lastly, this weekend was spent taking some chill time for myself and clearing my mind for the month ahead. I spent about six hours on Saturday completing this massive Halo dropship for my five year old son Link. Poor guy has been waiting since Christmas for me to build it. It had over 1,000 pieces and glossy instructions that made it difficult to distinguish camo pieces from black pieces, but we got the job done!:)

My wife and I were able to get our Garage Sale fix in, and also found time to sit on the porch for morning coffee Sunday morning. Overall, it made for a great weekend and a good refresher before getting back to work crafting words into worlds.

Until next time, Be well

Joshua

Leave a Reply

