The Dream Ghost by Joshua David

I am a restless spirit walking your stairs in the depths of night and shadow.

The floor creeks with my every footfall and the door swings open before my hand.

The air in the room tingles with my charge.

I sit by you as you sleep. Close enough to smell your skin and taste your breath.

I watch the slow rise and fall of your chest and wonder,

How does it feel to be alive and unaware of these other things.

Then I get to my nightly duties of bending low to your ear and whispering your dreams to you.

Tomorrow you will wake, head full of thought, and I will once again be but a shadow.

But sleep for now silent beauty and dream the words I whisper…

Leave a Reply

