Hear The Thing That Rattles

Hear The Thing That Rattles : By Joshua David

Hear the thing that rattles,
See it as it turns.
The wind gives skin the tingle,
A gust bitten throat which burns.

Frozen is the dark,
By which moon shone way toward home,
But shadows of night are creeping,
And chilling to the bone.

Hear the thing that rattles,
Watch it as it comes,
Its pale eye affixed to mine,
And I never-the-which-way to run.

Dodging through the tundra,
A chance I have still yet,
To the crossing at the river,
My frozen feet must get.

Hear the thing that rattles,
Behind me still it races,
The quickening of my blood,
Is surely what it chases.

The bridge toward town I pass through,
Under shelter comes relief,
My heart is pounding fiercely,
My breath in wheezing heaps.

Hear the thing that rattles,
My mind won’t soon forget.
A cautious walk through town toward home,
Is all my journey left.

Out of wilderness, and the closing of her grip,
Out of danger, I narrowly have slipped.
In front of crackling fire, my soul now sits,
A cup of warming tea, my lips, they sip.

Hear the thing that rattles,
To my window I see it now.
Not ghost of man or beast,
But wretched creature it is somehow.

No gasp escapes me, no blinking of mine eye.
It has followed me home, and my heart sits paralyzed.
It waited outside my window, for the darkening of the moon,
And now it comes for me, soon… very soon.

Hear the thing that rattles,
Watch it… as it chews…
With not a single scream by me,
My lungs hath not air to breathe.

The light through milky twilight,
The aching and the cold.
The breath at depths of midnight,
The forest calls me home.
Hear the thing that rattles,
Watch me as I turn,
On nights when skin will tingle,
And gusts will bite and burn.

Leave a Reply

