50 Word Halloween Story Challenge

Hello Everyone, I hope you’re all doing great. Since Nanowrimo is literally just around the corner, I’m trying to get warmed up. I got this idea from two guys that I used to do online gaming with.

I wanted to share a short 50 word story will all of you that I wrote about Halloween. It may seem easy, but crafting a cohesive story in 50 words can be quite a challenge. It makes you really think and you really have to make every word count.

Here’s my 50 word story for the Challenge, and I wanted to see if any of you could come up with something that channels a Halloween theme and spirit in 50 words or less.

Post what you come up with as a comment on my blog. I’d love to have a whole bunch of them. I’ll repost them in a special Halloween blog closer to the end of the month. I’ll credit everyone who submits and try to include a link back to your blog.

So start writing your 50 word stories! It’s great practice and it doesn’t take that long. Oh and one last thing, for this story, I have only counted ‘Jack-O-Lantern’ as one word, although my iOS Pages program counts it as three, go figure.

The Street:

The laughter of children echoes down an otherwise quiet street.

They savor the first bite of chocolate from a generous neighbor, and stray from the darkened porch of others unwelcoming.

Crackling footfalls skipping down a walk littered with leaves to the next porch with a jack-o-lantern this All Hallow’s Eve.

2 thoughts on “50 Word Halloween Story Challenge

  1. “Ghost”

    I’m just noiseless whispers, an echo and endless static—a shadow down the hall. I’m dust on the memories, the pins and needles from the winter in your bones.

    Help me come back down, I’m done with this weightlessness. As I reach out, is it me you felt just now?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment